You have already learned that the Federal judiciary is broken into districts.  Some states have more than one district, and, confusingly, some districts also have more than one division, or more than one courthouse. We have compiled the following list of District Courts to help you figure out where to send your complaint.  Find your state in the following list, and then look for the county your prison is in.  Under the name of your county, you will find the address of the District Court where you should send your complaint. All special instructions are in italics.

ALABAMA (11th Circuit)

Northern District of Alabama: Counties: Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Jackson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph, Saint Clair, Shelby, Sumter, Talladega, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Winston

United States District Court
Hugo L. Black U. S. Courthouse
1729 Fifth Avenue North
Birmingham, AL 35203

Middle District of Alabama
The United States District Court for the Middle District of Alabama has three divisions:
The Northern Division: Autauga, Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Chilton, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Elmore, Lowndes, Montgomery, and Pike.
The Southern Division: Coffee, Dale, Geneva, Henry, and Houston.
The Eastern Division: Chambers, Lee, Macon, Randolph, Russell, and Tallapoosa.

All official papers for all the divisions should be sent to:
Ms. Debra Hackett
Clerk of the Court
One Church Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Southern District of Alabama: Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Conceuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Perry, Washington, Wilcox.

U.S. Courthouse
143 St. Joseph Street
Mobile, AL 36602

ALASKA (9th Circuit)

District of Alaska
Documents for cases in any county in Alaska may be filed in Anchorage, or in the divisional office where the case is located (addresses below).

U.S. District Court Clerk’s Office
222 W. 7th Avenue #4
Anchorage, AK 99513

U.S. District Court
101 12th Ave, Rm332
Fairbanks, AK 99701

U.S. District Court
101 12th Avenue
Room 332
Fairbanks, AK 99701

U.S. District Court
PO Box 020349
709 W. 9th Ave, R 979
Juneau, AK 99802

U.S. District Court
648 Mission Street
Room 507
Ketchikan, AK 99901

U.S. District Court
Front Street
PO Box 130
Nome, AK 99762

ARIZONA (9th Circuit)

District of ArizonaThe District of Arizona covers the entire state, but it is divided into three divisions with the following counties:

Phoenix Division: Maricopa, Pinal, Yuma, La Paz, Gila
Prescott Division: Apache, Navajo, Coconino, Mohave, Yavapai

You should send all documents for cases in the Phoenix OR the Prescott division to the Phoenix Courthouse, at:
Sandra Day O’Connor U.S. Courthouse
401 West Washington Street, Suite 130, SPC 1
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Tucson Division: Pima, Cochise, Santa Cruz, Graham, Greenlee

Send all documents for cases in the Tucson Division to Tucson, at:
Evo A. DeConcim U.S. Courthouse
405 West Congress Street, Suite 1500
Tucson AZ 85701

Comments are closed